Category: Magic

By Tim David

ISBN-10: 0735205396

ISBN-13: 9780735205390

"An based and concise book." - new york Times

Fans of Dr. Robert Cialdini, Daniel purple, and Malcolm Gladwell will get pleasure from this in-depth examine the customarily spectacular magic at the back of phrases. phrases motivate. phrases impact. phrases promote. yet why? and the way will we use phrases to higher converse our message so it really connects?

By exploring seven "magic words", Tim David explains the real psychology in the back of how what we are saying impacts these round us in enterprise and in existence. filled with startling medical examine, funny anecdotes, and word-for-word scripts, David lays out the secrets and techniques of precisely what to claim (and what to prevent asserting) so our phrases have the mystical impression we desire.

Managers, salespeople, and fogeys will learn:
The mystery be aware that Harvard psychologists found is the most important to unlocking human motivation
The one notice that a number of staggering reports have came across is actually influencing the foremost judgements on your life
The #1 mistake that managers make in the course of 1-on-1's, and the single uncomplicated observe that could repair it all
What Dale Carnegie dubbed "the sweetest sound in any language"
How one tiny notice can immediately swap someone's brain for the better
How the notorious "But Eraser" works and why such a lot of humans mess it up
The actual magic at the back of the note "thanks"
And a lot more!
"A transparent blueprint for construction connections and reworking relationships." - David Horsager, bestselling writer of The belief facet

"We regularly knew that sticks and stones might holiday our bones, and now we all know precisely what phrases do to the human mind. nice book!" - Scott Barry Kaufman, clinical director of the mind's eye Institute

Show description

Read more

By Robert Asprin

ISBN-10: 0441010830

ISBN-13: 9780441010837

Revolution is within the air. The king's courtroom sorcerer is being eyed with suspicion. no longer for dabbling within the black arts...not for consorting with a demon...not for having a dragon as a pet...not even for being mobbed up. yet for the best crime of all: elevating taxes.

who's this bad tyrant? None except Skeeve the nice.

Oh, how the amazing have fallen...

Show description

Read more

By Jay Kristoff

ISBN-10: 1250022959

ISBN-13: 9781250022950

A TREMBLING EARTH
The flames of civil struggle sweep around the Shima Imperium. With their plans to resume the Kazumitsu dynasty foiled, the Lotus Guild unharness their deadliest creation—a mechanical goliath referred to as the Earthcrusher, meant to unite the shattered Empire below a yoke of worry. With the Tiger extended family and their puppet Daimyo Hiro in tow, the Guild marches towards a conflict for absolute dominion over the Isles.

A damaged REBELLION
Yukiko and Buruu are compelled to take management of the Kagé uprising, accumulating new allies and previous pals with a purpose to unite the rustic opposed to the chi-mongers. however the ghosts of Buruu’s prior stand among them and the military they wish, and Kin’s betrayal has destroyed all belief between their allies. while a brand new foe joins the conflict tearing the Imperium aside, it is going to be the entire pair can do to muster the energy to struggle, not to mention win.

A ultimate BATTLE
The traitor relations walks the halls of Guild strength, his future just a bloody knife-stroke away. Hana and Yoshi fight to discover their position in a global now trying to them as heroes. mystery cabals in the Lotus Guild claw and fight; one towards darkness, the opposite towards gentle. and because the earth splits asunder, as armies spoil one another for rule over an empire of dull ash and the ultimate mystery approximately blood lotus is published, the folk of Shima will research one final, scary truth.

There is not anything a mom won't do to maintain her young children through her side.

Nothing.

Show description

Read more

By Persi Diaconis, Ron Graham

ISBN-10: 0691151644

ISBN-13: 9780691151649

Magical Mathematics finds the secrets and techniques of wonderful, fun-to-perform card tricks--and the profound mathematical rules at the back of them--that will astound even the main complete magician. Persi Diaconis and Ron Graham offer effortless, step by step directions for every trick, explaining how you can arrange the impact and supplying pointers on what to assert and do whereas appearing it. every one card trick introduces a brand new mathematical notion, and ranging the tips in flip takes readers to the very threshold of today's mathematical wisdom. for instance, the Gilbreath Principle--a excellent impression the place the playing cards stay up to speed regardless of being shuffled--is came upon to percentage an intimate reference to the Mandelbrot set. different card methods hyperlink to the mathematical secrets and techniques of combinatorics, graph idea, quantity thought, topology, the Riemann speculation, or even Fermat's final theorem.

Diaconis and Graham are mathematicians in addition to expert performers with many years event among them. during this booklet they percentage a wealth of conjuring lore, together with a few heavily guarded secrets and techniques of mythical magicians. Magical Mathematics covers the math of juggling and indicates how the I Ching connects to the historical past of chance and magic tips either previous and new. It tells the stories--and unearths the simplest tricks--of the eccentric and excellent inventors of mathematical magic. Magical Mathematics exposes previous playing secrets and techniques in the course of the arithmetic of shuffling playing cards, explains the vintage street-gambling rip-off of three-card monte, lines the historical past of mathematical magic again to the 13th century and the oldest mathematical trick--and a lot more.

Show description

Read more

By Angie Sage

ISBN-10: 0062236253

ISBN-13: 9780062236258

Lovers of Angie Sage's manhattan occasions bestselling delusion sequence, Septimus Heap, may be overjoyed with this electronic unique addition to the sequence: The Darke Toad, a 96-page novella choked with motion, humor, and magic that would have any baby or fan of such myth books as Fablehaven or Harry Potter giggling and inquiring for more!

DomDaniel returns in a hilarious escapade with the witches of the Port Witch Coven. during this story that happens among the tales advised in Magyk and Flyte, the witches wish DomDaniel's robust Darke Toad--and will visit ridiculous lengths to get their arms on it. yet first, Simon Heap needs to get his grasp to the Port Witch Coven's door, which could require a section extra Darke Magyk--and a miles more suitable stomach--than he bargained for. Is Simon as much as the task?

Meanwhile, impressive Wizard Marcia Overstrand has taken her younger Apprentice, Septimus Heap, on a box journey to the Port. yet what Marcia had was hoping will be a enjoyable but academic day out fast turns chaotic, for it slipped Marcia's brain that this night is Hallowseeth--the excellent evening for Darke mischief to head omitted one of the revelers.

With Angie Sage's attribute humor, loved characters, and Magykal environment, Septimus Heap: The Darke Toad is a must-read for each Septimus fan.

Show description

Read more

By Brent Weeks

ISBN-10: 0316040274

ISBN-13: 9780316040273

Logan Gyre is king of Cenaria, a rustic below siege, with a threadbare military and little desire. He has one probability - a determined gamble, yet one who may perhaps smash his kingdom.

In the north, the recent Godking has a plan. If it involves fruition, nobody can have the facility to forestall him.

Kylar Stern has no selection. to save lots of his friends-and possibly his enemies-he needs to accomplish the very unlikely: assassinate a goddess.

Beyond the Shadows
is the action-packed end to the evening Angel Trilogy.

Show description

Read more

By Christina Farley

Sixteen-year-old Jae Hwa Lee is a Korean-American lady with a black belt, a dangerous proclivity with steel-tipped arrows, and a chip on her shoulder the dimensions of Korea itself. while her widowed dad uproots her to Seoul from her domestic in L.A., Jae thinks her largest demanding situations should be becoming right into a new university and working together with her dismissive Korean grandfather. Then she discovers Korean demi-god, Haemosu, has been stealing the soul of the oldest daughter of every new release in her relatives for hundreds of years. And she's next.

But that’s no longer Jae’s simply problem.

There's additionally Marc. impossible to resist and captivating, Marc threatens to damage the obstacles round Jae's center. because the develop nearer, Jae needs to come to a decision if she will be able to belief him. yet Marc has a mystery of his own—one which may support Jae overturn the curse on her relations for sturdy. It seems that Jae's been incorrect a couple of lot of items: her grandfather is her maximum best friend, even the harsh woman can fall in love, and Korea may well simply be the house she's regularly been searching for.

Show description

Read more

By Andrii Sedniev

What in case you may get extra public conversing event after 10 hours of analyzing a e-book than nearly all of audio system get after 10 months of conversing from level? After examining Magic of Speech review you've got the event of utilizing the best public conversing recommendations utilized by one thousand of the world’s most sensible audio system in a variety of contexts. it is possible for you to to obviously see what makes every one speech powerful and what can increase it even additional. This skill will make you a more matured speaker who can create an enthralling speech from the 1st try out.
Magic of Speech evaluate includes a variety of demonstrations of universal blunders that audio system make and powerful functions of public talking ideas. After staring at and comparing 15 brief speeches of profitable audio system you'll advance the facility to obviously see find out how to enhance your individual speeches. you are going to grasp three drastically robust public conversing ideas which are more desirable than all different thoughts mixed. moreover, you'll study a powerful assessment process that might let you make different audio system profitable. analyzing this publication will possibly not make you a world-class speaker immediately, but it will certainly get you many steps towards this objective.

Show description

Read more

By Angie Sage

ISBN-10: 0062084577

ISBN-13: 9780062084576

Within the 6th publication of the Magykal sequence, Alther Mella has been Banished, a Darke Domaine engulfs the fort, and a Darke dragon is at the free. Septimus Heap needs to use all of his talents to avoid wasting the citadel and the Wizard Tower from destruction: He needs to input the Darke. yet he can't do that by myself. With assistance from Jenna, Alther Mella, Marcellus Pye, and Septimus's estranged brother, Simon Heap, Septimus and Marcia Overstrand conflict the spreading Darkenesse. Will Septimus reach preserving his Magykal world?

Written with Angie Sage's attribute humor, Septimus Heap, e-book Six: Darke is a compelling fable event packed with surprises, thrills, and laugh-out-loud moments. Readers will experience the action-packed tale as they notice the knowledge of Magyk—that all issues are supposed to join a dwelling complete.

Show description

Read more